Welcome to the ICM Forum. If you have an account but have trouble logging in, or have other questions, see THIS THREAD.
NOTE: Board emails should be working again. Information on forum upgrade and style issues.
Podcast: Talking Images (Episode 22 released November 17th * EXCLUSIVE * We Are Mentioned in a Book!!! Interview with Mary Guillermin on Rapture, JG & More)
Polls: 1978 (Results), Red Planet: Essential Cinema (Results), Western (Jul 30th)
Challenges: Run the Actor, Travel the World, Iran and Central Asia

ICM Forum Q&A

User avatar
AdamH
Site Admin
Posts: 12983
Joined: May 5th, 2011, 6:00 am
Contact:

#121

Post by AdamH »

blueboybob on Dec 24 2017, 07:43:27 PM wrote:Who is (not) approving entry to the group? https://www.icheckmovies.com/groups/icm ... ial+forum/
I think it's mightysparks.
User avatar
PeacefulAnarchy
Moderator
Posts: 26013
Joined: May 8th, 2011, 6:00 am
Contact:

#122

Post by PeacefulAnarchy »

I forgot groups still existed on ICM. Everyone else has too.
User avatar
xianjiro
Donator
Posts: 9736
Joined: June 17th, 2015, 6:00 am
Location: Kakistani Left Coast
Contact:

#123

Post by xianjiro »

blueboybob on Dec 24 2017, 07:43:27 PM wrote:Who is (not) approving entry to the group? https://www.icheckmovies.com/groups/icm ... ial+forum/
allisoncm's the top ranked member, so let's blame her! :P

but groups are going away in v3 of iCM since no one uses them any more and the last post to this group was only 4 years and 11 months ago :huh:
User avatar
3eyes
Donator
Posts: 7296
Joined: May 17th, 2011, 6:00 am
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

#124

Post by 3eyes »

Every time I refresh or go to a new topic or do much of anything on the site, I get a Malwarebytes popup saying "Website blocked." It's gotten much worse lately. It doesn't seem to prevent me getting into things, it's just annoying. Thought I'd mention it though, just in case there's anything sinister going on.
Last edited by 3eyes on February 1st, 2018, 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
:run: STILL the Gaffer!
User avatar
PeacefulAnarchy
Moderator
Posts: 26013
Joined: May 8th, 2011, 6:00 am
Contact:

#125

Post by PeacefulAnarchy »

I'm not sure that's something we can fix, but what does the rest of the message say? i.e. what website is being blocked.
User avatar
xianjiro
Donator
Posts: 9736
Joined: June 17th, 2015, 6:00 am
Location: Kakistani Left Coast
Contact:

#126

Post by xianjiro »

I'm pretty careful about malware and the like and have never had a problem on this forum. A couple thoughts: have you closed your browser down/rebooted your computer? Sometimes I pick up an 'annoyance' while browsing (similar to what you describe @3eyes) and this has always taken care of my annoyances - even full on browser hijacking.

If it persists after that, I'd run a full Malwarebytes scan. Just keep in mind that, at best, it takes a few hours to do a scan and might occupy your computer for a full day/over night depending on what it's got to get through.

Good luck!
User avatar
mightysparks
Site Admin
Posts: 31552
Joined: May 5th, 2011, 6:00 am
Location: Perth, WA, Australia
Contact:

#127

Post by mightysparks »

xianjiro on Dec 24 2017, 09:03:55 PM wrote:
blueboybob on Dec 24 2017, 07:43:27 PM wrote:Who is (not) approving entry to the group? https://www.icheckmovies.com/groups/icm ... ial+forum/
allisoncm's the top ranked member, so let's blame her! :P

but groups are going away in v3 of iCM since no one uses them any more and the last post to this group was only 4 years and 11 months ago :huh:
I had 78 requests :/ It doesn't notify you when you get requests so I only ever checked it when they first came out. Seems kinda pointless to accept anyone new now lol
"I do not always know what I want, but I do know what I don't want." - Stanley Kubrick

iCM | IMDb | Letterboxd | LastFM | TSZDT

Image
User avatar
maxwelldeux
Donator
Posts: 9132
Joined: June 7th, 2016, 6:00 am
Location: Seattle-ish, WA, USA
Contact:

#128

Post by maxwelldeux »

3eyes on Feb 1 2018, 08:26:59 AM wrote:Every time I refresh or go to a new topic or do much of anything on the site, I get a Malwarebytes popup saying "Website blocked." It's gotten much worse lately. It doesn't seem to prevent me getting into things, it's just annoying. Thought I'd mention it though, just in case there's anything sinister going on.
Do you have the ICM Enhanced (or other) script installed for the site?
User avatar
3eyes
Donator
Posts: 7296
Joined: May 17th, 2011, 6:00 am
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

#129

Post by 3eyes »

maxwelldeux on Feb 2 2018, 12:55:30 AM wrote:
3eyes on Feb 1 2018, 08:26:59 AM wrote:Every time I refresh or go to a new topic or do much of anything on the site, I get a Malwarebytes popup saying "Website blocked." It's gotten much worse lately. It doesn't seem to prevent me getting into things, it's just annoying. Thought I'd mention it though, just in case there's anything sinister going on.
Do you have the ICM Enhanced (or other) script installed for the site?
no I don't think so, that went kaputt with the last firefox update and I couldn't ... oh, never mind.

It's not surprising that with users from all over the world, Malwarebytes should find something to gripe about. I ran a full scan a week or so ago when I was having major computer problems, might do so again I suppose.

Meanwhile, a lot else on the site isn't working - the emoticons, the bb code links, etc. Guess I'll reboot and see if it fixes anything. And, of course, the Active Topics link - that's a real pain.
:run: STILL the Gaffer!
User avatar
monk-time
Posts: 1488
Joined: March 23rd, 2015, 6:00 am
Contact:

#130

Post by monk-time »

3eyes on Feb 2 2018, 10:22:18 AM wrote:Meanwhile, a lot else on the site isn't working - the emoticons, the bb code links, etc. Guess I'll reboot and see if it fixes anything. And, of course, the Active Topics link - that's a real pain.
This means something blocks Javascript from icmforum.com or ifrm.com, if you get a popup it's most likely Malwarebytes. What happens is that the site still loads, but without Javascript you can't do most of the interactive things with it. They've probably put either domain in some blacklist by mistake.

You need to add an exception in Malwarebytes for the one out of the two that is mentioned in the popup, here's how to do it (in step 4 choose "Add Domain").

There also seems to be a shorter way to do it: if your popup looks like this:

Image

and the top row says "Domain: www.icmforum.com" or "Domain: **.ifrm.com", clicking "Manage Exclusions" in the popup should add an exception. It's possible that you'll have to repeat this for several various "**.ifrm.com" domains until the popup stops showing up.
Last edited by monk-time on March 22nd, 2018, 8:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
blueboybob
Donator
Posts: 2524
Joined: March 11th, 2013, 6:00 am
Location: DC
Contact:

#131

Post by blueboybob »

ublock origin was blocking the site but only sometimes. Dpeends on what ad was supposed ot be showing that day.
User avatar
RogerTheMovieManiac88
Posts: 2071
Joined: February 4th, 2017, 7:00 am
Location: Westmeath, Ireland
Contact:

#132

Post by RogerTheMovieManiac88 »

monk-time on Feb 2 2018, 10:52:04 AM wrote:
3eyes on Feb 2 2018, 10:22:18 AM wrote:Meanwhile, a lot else on the site isn't working - the emoticons, the bb code links, etc. Guess I'll reboot and see if it fixes anything. And, of course, the Active Topics link - that's a real pain.
This means something blocks Javascript from icmforum.com or ifrm.com, if you get a popup it's most likely Malwarebytes. What happens is that the site still loads, but without Javascript you can't do most of the interactive things with it. They've probably put either domain in some blacklist by mistake.

You need to add an exception in Malwarebytes for the one out of the two that is mentioned in the popup, here's how to do it (in step 4 choose "Add Domain").

There also seems to be a shorter way to do it: if your popup looks like this:

Image

and the top row says "Domain: www.icmforum.com" or "Domain: **.ifrm.com", clicking "Manage Exclusions" in the popup should add an exception. It's possible that you'll have to repeat this for several various "**.ifrm.com" domains until the popup stops showing up.
Thanks for those tips, monk-time. I've been getting the same as 3eyes on my computer so your advice was helpful to me as well.
That's all, folks!
User avatar
3eyes
Donator
Posts: 7296
Joined: May 17th, 2011, 6:00 am
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

#133

Post by 3eyes »

it says "b3.ifrm.com" - I'm nervous about allowing the wrong thing....
:run: STILL the Gaffer!
User avatar
PeacefulAnarchy
Moderator
Posts: 26013
Joined: May 8th, 2011, 6:00 am
Contact:

#134

Post by PeacefulAnarchy »

A long as it ends with ifrm.com it's fine that's where zetaboards stores its scripts and images.
User avatar
3eyes
Donator
Posts: 7296
Joined: May 17th, 2011, 6:00 am
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

#135

Post by 3eyes »

that did it. Thanks!
:run: STILL the Gaffer!
User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 34184
Joined: February 16th, 2012, 7:00 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#136

Post by joachimt »

The frequency of posting is limited to prevent abuse. Please try again in ... seconds.
I get this very often. The current limit is somewhere around 20-25 seconds. That is very long. It's not that hard to reply, go to another topic, read one sentence and reply to that within 20 seconds. Is it possible to make the limit lower?
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"
User avatar
mightysparks
Site Admin
Posts: 31552
Joined: May 5th, 2011, 6:00 am
Location: Perth, WA, Australia
Contact:

#137

Post by mightysparks »

joachimt on Feb 10 2018, 05:48:16 AM wrote:
The frequency of posting is limited to prevent abuse. Please try again in ... seconds.
I get this very often. The current limit is somewhere around 20-25 seconds. That is very long. It's not that hard to reply, go to another topic, read one sentence and reply to that within 20 seconds. Is it possible to make the limit lower?
I just changed it to the lowest setting, which is 5 seconds.
"I do not always know what I want, but I do know what I don't want." - Stanley Kubrick

iCM | IMDb | Letterboxd | LastFM | TSZDT

Image
User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 34184
Joined: February 16th, 2012, 7:00 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#138

Post by joachimt »

mightysparks on Feb 10 2018, 06:05:11 AM wrote:
joachimt on Feb 10 2018, 05:48:16 AM wrote:
The frequency of posting is limited to prevent abuse. Please try again in ... seconds.
I get this very often. The current limit is somewhere around 20-25 seconds. That is very long. It's not that hard to reply, go to another topic, read one sentence and reply to that within 20 seconds. Is it possible to make the limit lower?
I just changed it to the lowest setting, which is 5 seconds.
:thumbsup:
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"
User avatar
Gershwin
Donator
Posts: 7152
Joined: May 17th, 2011, 6:00 am
Location: Leiden, NL
Contact:

#139

Post by Gershwin »

I think most of this thread is quite outdated, right?
RokP 250

Profiles: Untappd - Last.fm - iCM
User avatar
PeacefulAnarchy
Moderator
Posts: 26013
Joined: May 8th, 2011, 6:00 am
Contact:

#140

Post by PeacefulAnarchy »

Yes, but I don't have the time to rewrite it. I could just remove the zeta stuff
User avatar
Gershwin
Donator
Posts: 7152
Joined: May 17th, 2011, 6:00 am
Location: Leiden, NL
Contact:

#141

Post by Gershwin »

PeacefulAnarchy wrote: July 11th, 2018, 3:37 pm Yes, but I don't have the time to rewrite it. I could just remove the zeta stuff
Nah, fair enough. I just stumbled upon it and thought I'd point it out, but that was probably quite redundant.
RokP 250

Profiles: Untappd - Last.fm - iCM
User avatar
albajos
Posts: 6942
Joined: May 24th, 2016, 6:00 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

#142

Post by albajos »

PeacefulAnarchy wrote: February 22nd, 2017, 6:03 am
xianjiro on Feb 21 2017, 10:34:24 PM wrote: :thumbsup: :poshclap:

Q: how do I set the dimensions (downsize) when using the Image
you can use the code as follows

Code: Select all

[img=w,h]
Where w is the width and h is height in pixels. As far as I know there's no way specify just one dimension and have it scale proportionately, which means if you're not careful you can skew the image badly. For example
Spoiler: click to toggle
Original
Image
Imperfect but ok scaling
Image
terrible scaling
Image
Is this still the code in the new forum? Can't make it work
User avatar
PeacefulAnarchy
Moderator
Posts: 26013
Joined: May 8th, 2011, 6:00 am
Contact:

#143

Post by PeacefulAnarchy »

albajos wrote: August 5th, 2018, 4:25 pm
PeacefulAnarchy wrote: February 22nd, 2017, 6:03 am
xianjiro on Feb 21 2017, 10:34:24 PM wrote: :thumbsup: :poshclap:

Q: how do I set the dimensions (downsize) when using the Image
you can use the code as follows

Code: Select all

[img=w,h]
Where w is the width and h is height in pixels. As far as I know there's no way specify just one dimension and have it scale proportionately, which means if you're not careful you can skew the image badly. For example
Spoiler: click to toggle
Original
Image
Imperfect but ok scaling
Image
terrible scaling
Image
Is this still the code in the new forum? Can't make it work
It's imgsz instead of img for the resize code, should work the same otherwise.
User avatar
rnilsson19
Posts: 708
Joined: December 1st, 2016, 7:00 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

#144

Post by rnilsson19 »

I can't seem to find the 2018 poll schedule anywhere, am I blind or is it gone?
User avatar
Carmel1379
Donator
Posts: 4682
Joined: February 21st, 2014, 7:00 am
Contact:

#145

Post by Carmel1379 »

rnilsson19 wrote: September 18th, 2018, 4:06 pm I can't seem to find the 2018 poll schedule anywhere, am I blind or is it gone?
viewtopic.php?p=182793#p182793. Looks like it was un-pinned within the subforum.
arittake no yume (nikki) o kaki atsume & I suppose I’ll have to add the force of gravity to my list of enemies

:imdb: IMDb Revolutions :letbxd: exwordpress blue :ICM:
User avatar
rnilsson19
Posts: 708
Joined: December 1st, 2016, 7:00 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

#146

Post by rnilsson19 »

Carmel1379 wrote: September 18th, 2018, 4:26 pm
rnilsson19 wrote: September 18th, 2018, 4:06 pm I can't seem to find the 2018 poll schedule anywhere, am I blind or is it gone?
viewtopic.php?p=182793#p182793. Looks like it was un-pinned within the subforum.
Cheers!
User avatar
Coryn
Posts: 1608
Joined: December 5th, 2018, 2:53 pm
Contact:

#147

Post by Coryn »

How do I search for a movie in a certain list? For example I want to see which movies in my watchlist are included in the Rosenbaum list. I know for example that I can search on 'year' but how can I search in a list on name?
I saved Latin, what did you ever do ?
User avatar
maxwelldeux
Donator
Posts: 9132
Joined: June 7th, 2016, 6:00 am
Location: Seattle-ish, WA, USA
Contact:

#148

Post by maxwelldeux »

Coryn wrote: January 30th, 2019, 3:58 pm How do I search for a movie in a certain list? For example I want to see which movies in my watchlist are included in the Rosenbaum list. I know for example that I can search on 'year' but how can I search in a list on name?
Well, looking for a specific title, I just open the list in my browser and hit Ctrl-F to manually find it (if it's there). If you want to compare two lists (e.g., your watchlist and the Rosenbaum list), install the ICM Enhanced script and use the Cross Reference functionality.

Link to script: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=218

A lot of us use that script, and it's enormously helpful.
User avatar
Coryn
Posts: 1608
Joined: December 5th, 2018, 2:53 pm
Contact:

#149

Post by Coryn »

maxwelldeux wrote: January 30th, 2019, 5:59 pm
Coryn wrote: January 30th, 2019, 3:58 pm How do I search for a movie in a certain list? For example I want to see which movies in my watchlist are included in the Rosenbaum list. I know for example that I can search on 'year' but how can I search in a list on name?
Well, looking for a specific title, I just open the list in my browser and hit Ctrl-F to manually find it (if it's there). If you want to compare two lists (e.g., your watchlist and the Rosenbaum list), install the ICM Enhanced script and use the Cross Reference functionality.

Link to script: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=218

A lot of us use that script, and it's enormously helpful.
Thanks for the script, I'll try it out. I
I saved Latin, what did you ever do ?
User avatar
Opio
Posts: 312
Joined: May 19th, 2018, 6:00 am
Location: U.S.
Contact:

#150

Post by Opio »

Is there a way to have the forum search tool locate an exact phrase? For instance, I want to find "Billy Liar", but not including mentions of just "Billy" or "Liar", only times when the two words are next to each other. Double quote marks don't work. Thanks in advance for any help.
User avatar
Carmel1379
Donator
Posts: 4682
Joined: February 21st, 2014, 7:00 am
Contact:

#151

Post by Carmel1379 »

Opio wrote: February 18th, 2019, 7:45 pm Is there a way to have the forum search tool locate an exact phrase? For instance, I want to find "Billy Liar", but not including mentions of just "Billy" or "Liar", only times when the two words are next to each other. Double quote marks don't work. Thanks in advance for any help.
Try to type in "Billy+Liar" in the Search field. That should give as a result all posts with those two words in them.
arittake no yume (nikki) o kaki atsume & I suppose I’ll have to add the force of gravity to my list of enemies

:imdb: IMDb Revolutions :letbxd: exwordpress blue :ICM:
User avatar
Opio
Posts: 312
Joined: May 19th, 2018, 6:00 am
Location: U.S.
Contact:

#152

Post by Opio »

Carmel1379 wrote: February 18th, 2019, 7:59 pm
Opio wrote: February 18th, 2019, 7:45 pm Is there a way to have the forum search tool locate an exact phrase? For instance, I want to find "Billy Liar", but not including mentions of just "Billy" or "Liar", only times when the two words are next to each other. Double quote marks don't work. Thanks in advance for any help.
Try to type in "Billy+Liar" in the Search field. That should give as a result all posts with those two words in them.
You're right. But I wasn't specific enough in my OP as to what I was hoping to get, which was only posts including Billy and Liar next to each other in that order. With "Billy+Liar" or "Billy Liar", I get posts that include things like, "The Man who shot Billy the Kid...the reviewer was a liar....", as both of the searched words appear in the same post.
User avatar
weirdboy
Donator
Posts: 4105
Joined: January 3rd, 2016, 7:00 am
Contact:

#153

Post by weirdboy »

While it's possible to use thread tools to bookmark a thread, I cannot figure out how to view threads that I've bookmarked.

Where would they be?
User avatar
PeacefulAnarchy
Moderator
Posts: 26013
Joined: May 8th, 2011, 6:00 am
Contact:

#154

Post by PeacefulAnarchy »

weirdboy wrote: May 10th, 2019, 3:31 am While it's possible to use thread tools to bookmark a thread, I cannot figure out how to view threads that I've bookmarked.

Where would they be?
ucp.php?i=ucp_main&mode=bookmarks
Click your name and then choose user control panel.

Or, Click PMs then Overview.
User avatar
Coryn
Posts: 1608
Joined: December 5th, 2018, 2:53 pm
Contact:

#155

Post by Coryn »

Can someone please guide me on how to upload simple image to this forum? I don't understand how I am not able to do this...

I try several sites, I try with and without img tags. I try to put png or jpg at the end of the link a'd I try it without. All different results but never what i want.

Please help me out here.
I saved Latin, what did you ever do ?
User avatar
PeacefulAnarchy
Moderator
Posts: 26013
Joined: May 8th, 2011, 6:00 am
Contact:

#156

Post by PeacefulAnarchy »

img tags should work.
Image
User avatar
albajos
Posts: 6942
Joined: May 24th, 2016, 6:00 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

#157

Post by albajos »

I use imgbb.com

That site even has 10 different embed codes/links so it should be useful in all the internets

(but don't add or remove jpg/png. Just copy the html-adress.
If you embed stuff from other sites (like imdb), just right click, and pick Open image in new tab, then copy the html.)

And [/img][img] yes, (but other way around)
User avatar
albajos
Posts: 6942
Joined: May 24th, 2016, 6:00 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

#158

Post by albajos »

User avatar
Coryn
Posts: 1608
Joined: December 5th, 2018, 2:53 pm
Contact:

#159

Post by Coryn »

albajos wrote: August 20th, 2019, 8:40 am I use imgbb.com

That site even has 10 different embed codes/links so it should be useful in all the internets

(but don't add or remove jpg/png. Just copy the html-adress.
If you embed stuff from other sites (like imdb), just right click, and pick Open image in new tab, then copy the html.)

And [/img][img] yes, (but other way around)
So I tried to use imgbb and I still can't make it work. It gives me 5 options. Use the url after the upload. Use HTML or BB code. I try to copy every single one of them and try to put IMG code on them but it simply doesn't work.
I saved Latin, what did you ever do ?
User avatar
albajos
Posts: 6942
Joined: May 24th, 2016, 6:00 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

#160

Post by albajos »

Just use

Links -> Direct links

for this forum

Image

[ img]https://image.ibb.co/hU650z/306594-1.jpg[/img ]
Post Reply