Welcome to the ICM Forum. If you have an account but have trouble logging in, or have other questions, see THIS THREAD.
Polls: Favorite Movies (Results), 1945 (Results), 1929 awards (Apr 4th), South Asia (Apr 25th), Doubling the Canon (Ratings Apr 30th)
Challenges: Doubling the Canon, Nordic, 1950s
Film of the Week: The Music of Chance, May nominations (May 1st)
World Cup S4: Round 1 schedule, 1F: Brazil vs Greece vs Japan vs Poland (Apr 5th), 1G: Germany vs Pakistan vs Ukraine vs USA (Apr 22nd)

Finding a Job

Lammetje
Donator

Finding a Job

Post by Lammetje » February 14th, 2015, 2:01 am

I have been unemployed for a few months now. For about a year I had a part-time job hardly worth mentioning. During the years before that I haven't done much either. I have a Bachelor's degree in Russian, but I'm not looking to pursue a career in the translation business. My Russian is too rusty anyway. Getting a Master's degree is out of the question.

Looking through vacancies is not getting me anywhere, since 99% of the jobs either seem like a complete nightmare or require some kind of qualification I lack. A traineeship could work, but it looks like for most of them a two year commitment is involved. You have to aim high if you participate and it's often about stuff like giving presentations and "improving communication skills" as well. I don't want to become a manager or a consultant though - just place me behind a quiet desk and give me something challenging to work on. The less talking, the better.

So I guess I need to find a job which requires my level of education, with or without a couple of months of training. Up until now I have come up empty. What makes it even harder is that I'd rather not move to the Randstad (or the western part of the country for that matter). However, I am willing to move to Germany for example.