Welcome to the ICM Forum. If you have an account but have trouble logging in, or have other questions, see THIS THREAD.
Podcast: Talking Images (Episode 11 released July 24th)
Polls: 0 Official Lists (Results), 1960 (Aug 9th), Romance (Aug 28th)
Challenges: German/Austrian/Swiss, <400, 1970s
Film of the Week: Sibiriada, September nominations (Aug 28th)
World Cup S4: Match 2G: Russia vs Portugal (Aug 6th), Match 2H: India vs Cuba (Aug 16th), QF Preparation (Aug 25th)

Technical Support

Post Reply
User avatar
mightysparks
Site Admin
Posts: 30738
Joined: May 05, 2011
Location: Perth, WA, Australia
Contact:

Re: Technical Support

#1721

Post by mightysparks » July 22nd, 2020, 4:49 pm

Yeah I downloaded it from there but I can’t even run the installer so I’m not sure what I should be using to do so.
"I do not always know what I want, but I do know what I don't want." - Stanley Kubrick

iCM | IMDb | LastFM | TSZDT

Image

User avatar
Tim2460
Posts: 2404
Joined: Oct 01, 2018
Location: Dijon, France
Contact:

#1722

Post by Tim2460 » July 22nd, 2020, 4:51 pm

Archive.org host copies of exodos, which is an massive collection of old dos and w95 games. I don't know how easily is it to use as I get those collections from another site but it usually comes prepackaged with an sort of dos emulator. If you don't succeed in making it work, I'll take a look when I'll be back home next week.

User avatar
xianjiro
Donator
Posts: 7769
Joined: Jun 17, 2015
Location: Kakistani Left Coast
Contact:

#1723

Post by xianjiro » July 24th, 2020, 2:34 am

I just played the 1990 Deluxe version of the game on https://archive.org/details/msdos_Where ... eluxe_1990

Just click on the graphic at the top of the page (unless it's subject to geoblocking).

A bunch of old MSDOS based games can be played on Archive.org

Listen, Daddy. Teacher says, 'every time a car alarm bleeps, into heaven a demon sneaks.'
sol can find me here

User avatar
PeacefulAnarchy
Moderator
Posts: 24747
Joined: May 08, 2011
Contact:

#1724

Post by PeacefulAnarchy » July 24th, 2020, 2:56 am

This is the version I played: https://archive.org/details/msdos_Where ... diego_1985
It was great.

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1725

Post by joachimt » July 26th, 2020, 5:37 am

Can someone help me with this?
https://www.reddit.com/r/PleX/comments/ ... =post_body

This guy found a way to scrape a list of movies that are available to stream on Plex Movies (I mean the legal content from Plex itself). I have no idea how this works, but I want to do this for The Netherlands. I'm sure someone here knows his way around Python. Can someone give a step by step guide?
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
shugs
Donator
Posts: 567
Joined: Nov 15, 2014
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

#1726

Post by shugs » July 27th, 2020, 6:35 am

Well, according to this comment https://old.reddit.com/r/PleX/comments/ ... x/f9se7vz/ it generates the list of movies based on your current location, so you should be good.

You need to set PLEXTOKEN with yours. I think this article is up-to-date, haven't tried for myself https://support.plex.tv/articles/204059 ... lex-token/

Then run the script from the command line. Not sure what operating system you're using, these are the official docs for Windows: https://docs.python.org/3/faq/windows.html

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1727

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 6:40 am

Thanks for the links. I'll look into it.
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1728

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 2:25 pm

shugs wrote:
July 27th, 2020, 6:35 am
You need to set PLEXTOKEN with yours. I think this article is up-to-date, haven't tried for myself https://support.plex.tv/articles/204059 ... lex-token/
I'm stuck here already. It says "Browse to a library item and view the XML for it", but I don't see the "view XML" button anywhere like described here. What sort of library item should I go to?
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1729

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 2:32 pm

Found it. I had to make a video-library first, because I didn't have one. I only use Plex for music in my personal collection.
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1730

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 3:14 pm

Okay, so this is not something I can easily do with a few clicks. I have never used Python before. Here's what I did so far:

I installed the latest version of Python. (I'm on Win10, btw)
I found my Plex Token.
I copied the script text from that Reddit post (I've tried both with the first post and the second post) into Notepad and saved it as test1.py (the second one as test2.py).
I also put the Token into the script.
I ran it in the command prompt with "py test1.py", but it gave an error about "untangle".
I noticed "import untangle" at the start of the script, so I realized it wanted to use another script called "untangle". I think I found the right one.
I've saved untangle.py in the same folder as test1.py.
I ran it again.
Here's the result:

Image

So it seems something is still going wrong, but I'm not sure what. I also don't know what the result should be. I should get a list of some kind. As a file? In the command prompt? No idea.

Hopefully someone knows the next step.
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

tirefeet
Posts: 1636
Joined: Nov 28, 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

#1731

Post by tirefeet » July 27th, 2020, 3:50 pm

Hi Joachim, you need a helper tool such as "pip" to utilize those imported packages. Can you verify if it is installed or install it yourself as it is outlined on this page: https://phoenixnap.com/kb/install-pip-windows

If everything goes alright than you can install untangle with the command "pip install untangle" and try again to fetch the list you want.

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1732

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 4:06 pm

That page says pip should be installed in the latest version of python, but typing "pip help" to check results in an error saying the command is unknown. Should I type that command while python is running or directly in the command prompt?
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1733

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 4:10 pm

I also tried installing it without success.

I really need more guidelines... :(
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

tirefeet
Posts: 1636
Joined: Nov 28, 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

#1734

Post by tirefeet » July 27th, 2020, 4:29 pm

Probably already you have the scripts "test1.py" and "test2.py" in a folder. Hover over that folder and press SHIFT + right mouse button and select "Open Powershell window here" from the context menu. You may type "ls" to make sure that you have the python scripts in the directory.

Type "python" to see if it returns anything. As you stated you already installed python so it should return "3.8.*", but if an error is prompted you need to look up how to set an environment variable but hopefully you won't need to.

Then check if the pip is installed by typing "pip --version". If it is not follow the steps on the link I have provided. Afterwards "untangled" package can be installed with command I have written and you may check if the script works as intended.

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1735

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 5:35 pm

When I type python in Powershell it opens up MS Store. But I'm sure Python 3.8 is installed. When I hit windows-keys and search python, I get the app (3.8). When I open it, it runs python in command prompt.

When I type "pip --version" in Powershell it says "The term 'pip' is not recognized...". So it seems pip isn't installed. So first I'll get back to that and report back when I'm done.
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1736

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 6:19 pm

Seems I need to type "py" and not "python".
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1737

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 6:28 pm

Installing pip just doesn't work.

Step 1: I rightclicked the link and chose "Save link as". I saved it in the python-folder in my documents.
Step 2: I opened command prompt as admin.
Step 3: Below you can see what I did, but the command "py get-pip.py" just doesn't result in anything.

Image
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1738

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 6:29 pm

You can see I tried both directly with "py get-pip.py" and with opening python first and then "get-pip.py".
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

tirefeet
Posts: 1636
Joined: Nov 28, 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

#1739

Post by tirefeet » July 27th, 2020, 6:50 pm

When you typed "py" it switched to python interface. Can you type "py -3 -m ensurepip"? Then close that command line session, open a new one then try pip --version again.

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1740

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 6:56 pm

No result:

Image

After this closed command prompt, opened it up again, went to the folder, typed pip --version, no result.
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1741

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 7:06 pm

What if I just copy the code from the untangle-script into the other script? Would that work? That way I won't have to use Pip, I guess.
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

tirefeet
Posts: 1636
Joined: Nov 28, 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

#1742

Post by tirefeet » July 27th, 2020, 7:11 pm

Alright, so pip is there but the windows command line does not recognize it since its path is not defined in the environment variables. You can refer to the "Adding PIP to Windows Environment Variables" section of this post: https://www.activestate.com/resources/q ... on-windows

tirefeet
Posts: 1636
Joined: Nov 28, 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

#1743

Post by tirefeet » July 27th, 2020, 7:13 pm

joachimt wrote:
July 27th, 2020, 7:06 pm
What if I just copy the code from the untangle-script into the other script? Would that work? That way I won't have to use Pip, I guess.
It would not yield anything and you don't need that script at all. Once you add pip to environment variables you will be able to invoke "untangled" easily with the pip command.

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1744

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 7:21 pm

tirefeet wrote:
July 27th, 2020, 7:11 pm
Alright, so pip is there but the windows command line does not recognize it since its path is not defined in the environment variables. You can refer to the "Adding PIP to Windows Environment Variables" section of this post: https://www.activestate.com/resources/q ... on-windows
Done. Should I still install it the same way?
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

tirefeet
Posts: 1636
Joined: Nov 28, 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

#1745

Post by tirefeet » July 27th, 2020, 7:30 pm

"pip --version" works now?

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1746

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 7:32 pm

Nope. "not recognized"
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

tirefeet
Posts: 1636
Joined: Nov 28, 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

#1747

Post by tirefeet » July 27th, 2020, 7:33 pm

Can you post your "Edit environment variable" screen?

User avatar
Knaldskalle
Moderator
Posts: 9867
Joined: May 09, 2011
Location: New Mexico, Trumpistan
Contact:

#1748

Post by Knaldskalle » July 27th, 2020, 7:35 pm

Does adding the location of pip to the PATH automatically "reload" the PATH in windows? I'm guessing a reboot might be required to ensure the updated PATH is actually used (it being Windows and all).
ImageImageImageImage

Please don't hurt yourself, talk to someone.

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1749

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 7:36 pm

Image


I moved the files to c:\Python.
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1750

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 7:37 pm

Knaldskalle wrote:
July 27th, 2020, 7:35 pm
Does adding the location of pip to the PATH automatically "reload" the PATH in windows? I'm guessing a reboot might be required to ensure the updated PATH is actually used (it being Windows and all).
I'll try now......
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1751

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 7:39 pm

joachimt wrote:
July 27th, 2020, 7:37 pm
Knaldskalle wrote:
July 27th, 2020, 7:35 pm
Does adding the location of pip to the PATH automatically "reload" the PATH in windows? I'm guessing a reboot might be required to ensure the updated PATH is actually used (it being Windows and all).
I'll try now......
No change
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

tirefeet
Posts: 1636
Joined: Nov 28, 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

#1752

Post by tirefeet » July 27th, 2020, 7:40 pm

You may need to type the exact directory where the actual file which refers to pip utilities are located. Probably it is in a folder called "Scripts".

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1753

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 7:45 pm

tirefeet wrote:
July 27th, 2020, 7:40 pm
You may need to type the exact directory where the actual file which refers to pip utilities are located. Probably it is in a folder called "Scripts".
That changed a lot:
Image

So should I run scripts always from that folder?
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

tirefeet
Posts: 1636
Joined: Nov 28, 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

#1754

Post by tirefeet » July 27th, 2020, 7:51 pm

You need to install untangle with the "pip install untangle" command. Then open a command line tool in the folder where the scripts are located, you can use powershell as I wrote before. Type the needed command to fetch the list and hopefully it works.

tirefeet
Posts: 1636
Joined: Nov 28, 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

#1755

Post by tirefeet » July 27th, 2020, 7:55 pm

You also should add that "../Python38/Scripts" directory to the environment variables path where you see "C:/Python". That way the pip commands will work in any directory on command line.

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1756

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 8:05 pm

untangle installed successfully

I have moved all the scripts to the folder above just to have everything in the same spot.

Added that folder to environment variables.

Then I open Powershell in that folder and try to run the script test2.py. Still getting the same as earlier.

Image
here's the code in the test2.py scriptShow
import untangle

PLEXTOKEN = 'MYPLEXTOKEN'

pageSize = 200
plexURL = 'https://vod.provider.plex.tv/library/se ... ion=4.16.2'
media = untangle.parse(plexURL.format(PLEXTOKEN,0,1))
results = int(media.MediaContainer['totalSize'])
offset = int(media.MediaContainer['offset'])
lastPage = int(results/pageSize)+1

for currentPage in range(lastPage):
media = untangle.parse(plexURL.format(PLEXTOKEN,(currentPage*200),pageSize))
for item in media.MediaContainer:
if 'Video' in dir(item):
for subItem in item.Video:
print(' {0} ({1})'.format(subItem['title'],str(subItem['originallyAvailableAt'])[:4]))
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1757

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 8:06 pm

Thanks very much for your help so far. I couldn't have gotten this far without you! :thumbsup:
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

tirefeet
Posts: 1636
Joined: Nov 28, 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

#1758

Post by tirefeet » July 27th, 2020, 8:17 pm

You're welcome, but we're back at square one actually :D The 404 error may indicate that the service provider has changed their api which would render this script to obsolete state. Does that link in "plexURL" open for you?

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1759

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 8:22 pm

no
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

User avatar
joachimt
Donator
Posts: 31922
Joined: Feb 16, 2012
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

#1760

Post by joachimt » July 27th, 2020, 8:23 pm

When I go to Plex Movies&TV, this is the url in my browser:
https://app.plex.tv/desktop#!/media/tv. ... rce=movies
ICM-profile
Fergenaprido: "I find your OCD to be adorable, J"

Post Reply